Stages of a Child’s Teeth

Stages of a Child’s Teeth

There are four main stages of a your child’s teeth.
  1. About 6 weeks old, as a fetus, the foundation and structure of the teeth begin to form.
  2. At 3 to 4 months in the womb, the hard tissue that incases the teeth develops
  3. After birth (usually between 4 and 12 months old) all of the baby teeth have broken through the gums.
  4. The baby teeth are “lost” to make way for the adult teeth.

Arrival of the Baby Teeth

Although all children are different, the following represents the common order for the arrival of the baby teeth.
  1. The central incisor, on the lower jaw, is usually the first baby tooth to appear. (This is the middle front tooth.)
  2. The second central incisor is usually next, popping up beside the first one.
  3. The four upper incisors are usually the next to appear.
  4. The first four molars and the two bottom lateral incisors usually come next.
  5. The pointed teeth, called the cuspids, then appear.
  6. The four second molars are usually the last of the baby teeth to appear, generally when the child is around two years of age.
Primary Teeth Development Chart
Upper TeethWhen tooth emergesWhen tooth falls out
Central incisor8 to 12 months6 to 7 years
Lateral incisor9 to 13 months7 to 8 years
Canine (cuspid)16 to 22 months10 to 12 years
First molar13 to 19 months9 to 11 years
Second molar25 to 33 months10 to 12 years
Lower Teeth  
Second molar23 to 31 months10 to 12 years
First molar14 to 18 months9 to 11 years
Canine (cuspid)17 to 23 months9 to 12 years
Lateral incisor10 to 16 months7 to 8 years
Central incisor6 to 10 months6 to 7 years

Your child will eventually have a total of 20 baby teeth, each coming in at a rate of about one per month.

No comments:

Post a Comment